logo

“Africa Rising Chairman Ndaba Mandela Publishes Book on Life Lessons from His Grandfather, Nelson Mandela”

NELSON MANDELA’S GRANDSON—NDABA MANDELA—SHARES THE POWERFUL AND BEAUTIFUL LIFE LESSONS TAUGHT TO HIM DURING THE YEARS HE LIVED WITH HIS GRANDFATHER In the vein of Barack Obama’s DREAMS FROM MY FATHER: A Story of Race and Inheritance, which uses a young man’s complex coming-of-age story as a vehicle for exploring themes that have both personal and universal meaning, GOING TO THE MOUNTAIN: Life Lessons from My Grandfather (Hachette Books; June 26, 2019) vividly illustrates the important life lessons Nelson Mandela taught his grandson, Ndaba Mandela, about freedom, education, resistance in the right ways, and peace. Ndaba tells the powerful story of how he, as a child, came to live with Nelson Mandela—who he had met only once before, when Mandela was imprisoned at Victor Verster Prison—and how the two men slowly, and cautiously, built a relationship that would affect both of their lives in extraordinary ways. Much of Ndaba’s maturation and growth is due to his “granddad.” Nelson Mandela steered his grandson Ndaba away from his reckless youth (fighting in gangs, blowing off school) and toward a fully realized and principled adulthood. On a scale that is both intimate and epic, the book will detail the gripping arc of Ndaba’s own extraordinary journey, which mirrors that of South Africa’s, from the segregated Soweto ghettos into which he was born, to the presidential mansion in which he grew up, and the challenging times in which he lives in now. Embedded deeply throughout the book is also the rich tribal wisdom and folktales of Nelson Mandela’s Xhosa tribe, which he adored sharing with his grandson—and which greatly influenced both men throughout their lives. As we approach Nelson Mandela International Day, which is celebrated every year on July 18th (Nelson Mandela’s birthday), this is the perfect time for people to read about Nelson Mandela in a way they never have before—through a raw and deeply personal firsthand account by his grandson. Ultimately, GOING TO THE MOUNTAIN serves as a physical remembrance of Nelson Mandela’s legacy and the remarkable influence that a single individual can have on the world.   About Ndaba Mandela: Nelson Mandela’s legacy lives on as his grandson, Ndaba Mandela, continues to keep its beacon of hope bright, fueling its fiery message that one person can make a difference. Ndaba was recently named one of the “28 Men of Change” by BET and is showing the world, through his actions and orations, that Nelson Mandela’s voice and message of freedom still rings true. Ndaba is the co-founder and co-chairman of the Africa Rising Foundation, an organization dedicated to promoting a positive image of Africa around the world and to increasing its potential for growth in the areas of education, employment and international corporate alliances for profit and partnership. Ndaba has also served as a spokesperson and ambassador for UNAIDS, which seeks to end discrimination around HIV/AIDS, reaching millions through the power of football. With his one-of-a-kind perspective and dynamic speaking style, Ndaba remains true to his inspiring grandfather’s message. Follow Ndaba online: Arfoundation.co |  Ndaba.mandela | @NdabaMandela | GOING TO THE MOUNTAIN Life Lessons From My Grandfather By Ndaba Mandela Hachette Books | June 12, 2018 | $23.00 | Hardcover | 256 Pages | 9780316415736 For more information about GOING TO THE MOUNTAIN or to schedule an interview with Ndaba Mandela, please contact Marisol Salaman at Marisol.Salaman@hbgusa.com or 212-364-1214 or Sarah Falter at Sarah.Falter@hbgusa.com or 212-364-0581.   Tour Dates and Cities for NDABA MANDELA:     Brooklyn, NY                 June 26th                                         Brooklyn Public Library   7:30 PM                                              10 Grand Army Plaza Brooklyn, NY 11238 Note: Ndaba will be in conversation with Lydia Polgreen   Washington, D.C.         June 27th                                         The Library of Congress 12:00 PM                                            Jefferson Building Washington, D.C. 20540 Note: Ndaba will be in conversation with Dr. Carla Hayden                                                                                                *Atlanta, GA                     June 28th                                       The Carter Library                                                 7:00 PM                                         Carter’s B. Day Chapel 453 Freedom Parkway Atlanta, GA 30307 Note: Ndaba will be in conversation with Jason Carter   Los Angeles, CA              June 29th                                       Hip Hop Caucus 7:00 PM                                              817 Los Angeles Street Los Angeles, CA 90014   Note: Ndaba will be in conversation with Vivica A. Fox and introduced by Gerard Butler     *Ticketed      

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Stay Updated